IAU Symposium 342 – Perseus in Sicily: from black hole to cluster outskirts

Noto (Sicily, Italy), 2018 May 13-18

Upcoming events

(15 March) End of regular registration

(25 March) Publication of the symposium program

Last updates

(28 February) Close of abstract submission for oral presentations

(27 February 2018) Preliminary list of participants available

(23 February 2018) Symposium poster published

(21 February 2018) Notification of travel grant allocations

(20 February 2018)  Second announcement distributed, Travel information updated

(14 January 2018)  Application for IAU travel grants, End of reduced fee registration

(21 Nov 2017) First announcement distributed


Science rationale

The Perseus cluster has recently been the stage of some ground-breaking discoveries: on ultra-fine linear scales, space-VLBI has revealed fundamental details of the jet launching mechanism; on large scales, at superb energy resolution, Hitomi has revealed surprising details about the gas dynamics shaking our current understanding of the cool core phenomenon; in gamma rays of high and very high energy, dramatic activity with extremely short time scales has been reported both in NGC1275 and IC310. The importance and timeliness of discussing these and other topics, including feedback, is enhanced by the many developments recently achieved also in the fields of theory of accretion and particle acceleration, as well as to the great improvement in performance and accuracy of numerical simulations and imaging techniques.

We will gather multi-wavelength observers and theoreticians, experts from the event horizon out to the Megaparsec scales, encouraging interactions and discussion in the beautiful Sicilian city of Noto, a location rich in history, culture, nature, well-being, and science, near to the INAF 32m radio telescope and the CTA-ASTRI prototype.

Participation of qualified scientists with limited means of support, e.g., colleagues from economically less privileged countries and young scientists, will be facilitated thanks to IAU Travel Grants.


Kazunori Akiyama
Michiel Brentjens
Eugene Churazov
Francoise Combes
Denise Gabuzda
Karl Gebhardt
Marie-Lou Gendron-Marsolais
Gabriele Giovannini
Federica Govoni
Matteo Guainazzi
Melanie Johnston-Hollitt
Ruta Kale
Elina Lindfors
Anna Lia Longinotti
Monika Moscibrodzka
Monica Orienti
Chris Reynolds
Jeremy Sanders
Debora Sijacki
Aurora Simionescu
Taka Tamura
Alexander Tchekhovskoy
Eleonora Torresi
Irina Zhuravleva